Slow Cooker Red Beans and Rice

Yay, I finally cooked!  I do not like red beans and rice so I don’t eat them but Mr. Meat Eater loves them.  He likes any beans and rice ~ I think since he spent so much time in the Caribbean.  I try to make them once in awhile and I have something else for dinner.

This was a super easy recipe to make and it makes a huge amount so I was able to divide it up and freeze some.  I used Aidell’s Andouille Sausage since it’s all natural.  Many recipes call for tomatoes, etc., but this one does not.  I was a little leery of adding the beans right from the package but they turned out perfect ~ soft but not mushy.  I also went a little heavy on the seasoning but only because I knew I wouldn’t be eating it.  The recipe called for a 7 hour cooking time but I let it go 8 hours.

Mr. Meat Eater ate three bowls so it was a success.

Slow Cooker Red Beans and Rice

1 pound dried red beans
7 cups water
1 green pepper, chopped
1 onion, chopped
3 stalks celery, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced ~ I used 4
4 Andouille sausage links, sliced
3 tbsps Creole seasoning
Hot cooked rice

Place all ingredients in slow cooker. Cover and cook on HIGH for 7 hours or until beans are tender.

Serve with hot cooked rice.

Makes 10 (or more) servings.

Happy Cooking!

One thought on “Slow Cooker Red Beans and Rice

  1. Pingback: New Recipe on Food My Way « A Recipe A Day

Leave a Reply

