Oven Baked Chicken Fajitas

I found this recipe on Pinterest and the picture made it look delicious and it is!  It’s super easy to make as well which is my favorite thing.  It made enough for a couple of meals, too, which is always a good thing.

When I use oil in most recipes, I don’t want to taste it and that goes for this recipe when mixing the spices.  I used canola oil since there is no taste and that’s what I had on hand.  I also used canned diced tomatoes with chilis.  I did not drain the tomatoes and in hindsight I probably should have since there was too much juice for my liking so I just loaded up the tortillas using tongs.  I did use whole wheat tortillas which I will live to regret I’m sure.

I really wanted guacamole, too, but was in no mood to make it but I did find Calvado Guacamole which has no preservatives whatsoever and it is yummy!  Expensive but yummy!  I also had cheese and sour cream on the table.

The recipe came from Real Mom Kitchen.

Oven Baked Chicken Fajitas

1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into strips OR 1 lb chicken tenderloins
2 tbsp vegetable oil
2 tsps chili powder
2 tsps cumin
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp oregano
1/4 tsp salt
1 (15 oz) can diced tomatoes with green chilies
1 medium onion, sliced
1 green pepper, sliced ~ I used 1 green and 1 red pepper, sliced
12 flour tortillas
Favorite toppings such as guacamole, sour cream, cheese, salsa

Preheat oven to 400º. Grease a 13×9 pan.

Place chicken in the greased pan.

In a small bowl, mix the oil and spices and pour over the chicken. Mix with the chicken until combined.

Add the canned tomatoes, onions and peppers to the pan and mix.

Bake uncovered 20-30 minutes or until chicken is thoroughly cooked and veggies are softened. Mine took 30 minutes.

Serve on tortillas with the toppings.

Makes 4-6 servings.

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

